Jump to content
Destination Wedding Resort Reviews
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe All Inclusive

Ratings Distribution

70%
22%
7%
0%
0%
0%

Detailed Ratings

Accommodation Value
Communication
General Location
Wedding Sites
Wedding Value
(Rated 4.7 stars with 27 reviews)
Rated #1 of 84 Riveria Maya Corridor on BDW
About:
Location
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe All Inclusive is located in Xpu ha, Mexico, less than 1 mile from Dolphin Discovery. The hotel is 1.5 miles from Xpu ha Beach and 1.6 miles from Chac Mol. 
 
Hotel Features
This family friendly property has a private beach, outdoor swimming pool, children’s pool, billiards, supervised childcare/activities, and babysitting services. The hotel also features a 750 seat theater with live entertainment. There is a Mayan inspired full service health spa on site offering massage and beauty services. The hotel also has a spa tub, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, and fitness facilities. Two conference rooms, exhibit space, and a business center are all located on site. Business services and wireless Internet access (fees apply) are also available for guest use. Additionally, the hotel features a restaurant with 24 hour room service, and a swim up bar. 
 
Guestrooms
Each of the 756 guestrooms at the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe All Inclusive is air conditioned and has a private balcony with a view of the ocean, garden, and pool. Room amenities include satellite televisionswith pay movies, wireless Internet access (fees apply), CD players, and telephones with voicemail. Guestrooms area also outfitted with kitchenettes, minibars, and coffee/tea makers. Private bathrooms have bathrobes, bathroom phones, and hair dryers. Iron/ironing boards, in room safes, and welcome amenities are also provided.
 
The preferred airport for Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe All Inclusive is Cancun, Quintana Roo (CUN Cancun Intl.) 44.6 mi. 

Member Reviews

Pros: Venue options, catering, flowers, coordinators (when you get the good ones)
Cons: Be wary of the costs associated and not associated (they can be a little misleading), stay on top of the coordinator for what you've requested
Hi everyone! My name is Goldie and my husband and I got married at Barcelo Maya - Palace in May 2016 after what seemed like ages of planning (in reality we started roughly planning Aug - Sept 2015). I wanted to finally sit down and write down all my thoughts and rants to this site as it helped ease the stress of planning a wedding thousands of miles away. As most people have stated here -- don't worry, your wedding will be beautiful and just remember to take it all in :) Overall we loved our exp
Read more...
NurseNurse0101

By NurseNurse0101, · 2 Comments

Pros: Spa, Rooms, Pool, Wedding Planner
Hi Everyone!!! We are back and the wedding was AMAZIINNNGGGG!!!!! Seriously Amazing.. You can visit my facebook page for pictures Sarah Bristow (Douglas) Ok on with the review: Our wedding coordinator was originally Claudia, she has since left Barceló... we then started with Marlene who to be honest wasn't that great with communication. When we arrived and had our meeting, we actually met with Estriella, as Marlene was away on business. THIS WAS A GODSEND!!!! Estriella was AMAZING.. I cant even
Read more...
dawnb

By dawnb, · 9 Comments

Pros: Scenery, beaches, pools, food, rooms, wedding coordinator, all amenities, service...everything!
Cons: Spa
July 26, 2014 Wedding @ Barcelo Maya Palace, Riviera Maya, Mexico For all of you future brides this is a must read if you're trying to determine where to have your wedding or if you've already chosen Barcelo Maya Palace as your destination. It's a very detailed review but I hope you find this information very helpful as I did reading long reviews.  First off, I suggest you book your travel through a travel agent, especially if you're anticipating many guests to attend. To start, I spent time br
Read more...
Pros: beautiful grounds and rooms, pretty good food, staff is nice and caring
Cons: unorganized, on island time (everything takes a long time to get done)
We arrived at Barceló June 7th and it was a little chaotic right away. A lot of my friends and family where around the lobby with us checking in, but they ushered Jimmy (my now husband) and me into a completely different area/room.  It was a bummer getting split from the group right away since it then took us all awhile to catch back up with each other. Like a lot of people were saying, the check in process is kind of a mess. We sat in this new room for probably at least 30-45 minutes waiting to
Read more...
IslandBarbie

By IslandBarbie, · 5 Comments

Pros: Gorgeous grounds, tons to do, beautiful beaches, fun pools, EXCELENT food and drinks...
Cons: Not much...
We were married at the Barcelo Maya Palace on June 22, 2013 at 5pm in the Gazebo.  Our reception was held at 7pm in the Chak Halal banquet room.  We had a total of 44 people traveling (including us.)   Travel -  We flew on United on a non-stop flight.  One of the reasons we chose Mexico was because of the short travel time.  You literally have enough time to take a short nap and then you are there!  We ended up taking 4 bags (had to pay for 2) and only 3 of them arrived with the flight.  A
Read more...
Mel888

By Mel888, · 2 Comments

Check in- There was about 50 people who checked in at the same time and it was kind of a disaster. Couples were getting two double beds and friends were getting king sizes. All the family's with babies who requested cribs about 5 times didn't get one and had to wait hours until finally they got one. Pretty much the whole first day was chaos. We flew west jet and the rep told us we had to wait until the next morning to change rooms etc. I think once this was sorted out it was fine and I feel like
Read more...
Pros: Gorgeous property, great food, nice beach&pools, excellent wedding staff, great wedding locations
Cons: No real complaints!
Wedding Date:  March 1st, 2013 Resort: Barcelo Maya Palace Wedding package: Mint Breeze Ceremony: Playa Azul Beach 5:00pm Reception:  Rancho Grande Grill 7:00-10pm Wedding coordinator: Jacqueline   Overview: Our wedding was more than we could have ever imagined! Everything turned out perfectly, the staff truly know what they are doing, and I am so happy we decided to do a destination wedding. We had several people come up to us during and after the reception to tell us it wa
Read more...
Leahbell48

By Leahbell48, · 2 Comments

Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Spa
Hello Wedding Planners!   There were several reviews that helped me plan my wedding at Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe on this website – I promised myself that I need to return the favor and write a detailed and helpful review for all the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe (BMPD) brides!  I know how nerve racking it can be to plan a wedding at a venue you’ve never been to; so I am going to be as thorough as possible to put your mind at ease. If there is anything you take away from my review I hope tha
Read more...
gilmana

By gilmana, · 6 Comments

Pros: Better than ever expected - WC, place, service, etc. was exceptional!
Cons: Priest, Smile Market
Our wedding was incredible!  I had been with my husband for 10 years before getting married.  He's Mexican and I'm from MN.  We met while I was living in Mexico and about 4-5 years ago we both moved to the Washington DC area.  We had a very diverse group of guests and they were coming from all over. We were very fortunate to be able to share our special day with them.  Everyone wants to go back next year, but we've decided we'll go in 5 years so hopefully guests who couldn't go this time, will b
Read more...
FireyNurse

By FireyNurse, · 3 Comments

Pros: Everything is fabulous about this resort and their wedding coordinators
Cons: nothing
Our wedding was Nov 28, 2012 Strawberry passion package Ceremony at the Palace Gazebo at 3:00 Reception at 5:30 on the Beach in front of the Coco Bar   We booked the Palace for our destination wedding because I fell in love with the Gazebo and HAD to get married in it, the rest is history! We had a total of 26 guests go, most stayed at the Colonial, we stayed at the Palace along with a few other people, about 4 rooms I think were at the Palace in total.    We arrived and att
Read more...
Hrcahill

By Hrcahill, · 1 Comment

Pros: Beautiful Hotel, Very clean, updated rooms
Cons: Almost too large to find your group, organization in spa is horrible
A Hello everyone!  Just wanted to post a review since this site was so helpful to me while I was planning!  The most important thing I can tell all of you is that your wedding coordinator has everything under control!  It may not seem like it, but everything will be just as you wanted it and more.  I know in the beginning, I was very stressed, because I felt like I didn't know where to begin, and I wanted to start planning!!  I was very frustrated because my coordinator wasn't emailing me b
Read more...
kisekae

By kisekae, · 4 Comments

Barcelo Maya Palace Wedding Review April 26, 2012 Strawberry Package Wedding Coordinator Claudia was our wedding planner and she was amazing. She always replied to my emails promptly, and though it took her a few times to answer questions at times, in the end she did always manage to help me figure things out and was far more organised than I was. She left us a message the night of our arrival and we met the following morning where she had everything ready to go. She made sure everyth
Read more...
780chick

By 780chick, · 10 Comments

Pros: WC is organized,Multiple wedding beach locations,junior suites,Family Friendly,Pools,Snorkelling,Recreational activities,great food and premium drinks
Cons: Some guests said it was too big, Outside photography fee, Lots of school groups for spring break, front desk service, no free wi-fi, house wine sucks
A Barcelo Maya Palace March 28, 2012 Ceremony at Coral Beach 3:00 Reception at Playa Azul 6:00-11:00 Photography: Gonzalo Nunez http://www.gonzalonunez.com/ Video:Mediamorfosis http://mediamorfosisblog.com/ Hair and Make Up: Styling Trio (Adrian and Cristian) http://www.stylingtriorivieramaya.com/ DJ: Discomovil http://www.discomovilcancun.com/ Catamaran: Catayama www.catamaya.net/ Real Touch Flowers: My bouquet: Enchanting Memories http://enchantingmemoriesstore.com Bridesmaids/F
Read more...
Travel We used a TA and booked through Air Transat. We were able to book the wedding a year in advance (invitations were sent April 1, 2011 and we departed April 1, 2012). Considering the high time that we booked for, we got a pretty reasonable price. A couple of our guests chose to stay at the maya beach resort as they found the palace too costly, and went through a different TA. They ended up paying more than we did to stay at the palace. We were $1800 including GST for double occupancy. Ou
Read more...
~Melissa~

By ~Melissa~, · 0 Comments

Pros: Friendly staff, modern rooms, no shortage of beach loungers, snorkelling
Cons: large resort tons of walking (plus side exercise)
We were lucky enough to travel here November 2010 for my grandparent's 50th anniversary. It's a gorgeous resort with well kept gardens and many pools. We tended to stick to the beach with our snorkel gear and enjoyed the fish. Bring some crackers from the buffet and they will come right up to you. Pretty wild!   The rooms were large and I really liked the decor. It seemed more modern than some other resorts I've stayed at in Mexico.   Food was awesome. Breakfast being my favorite. We
Read more...
Brenners

By Brenners, · 2 Comments

Pros: Wedding locations, accommodations, food, drinks, service, wedding coordinator, grounds, pools, beach
Cons: More employees working the premium club for quicker assistance
We had our wedding at Barcelo Maya Palace on February 11, 2012.  Barcelo gave us a perfect wedding - we could not have asked for more!   Wedding Coordinator:  A+++   Lillian Vargas is awesome!  I cannot say enough good things about her.  She was quick to respond to my emails and answered all of my questions.  If she did not know the answer, she sought it out and provided me with the answer very quickly.  When we met with her before the wedding, she had everything lined up, reviewed e
Read more...
lalabee

By lalabee, · 0 Comments

Pros: friendliness of staff, wedding coordinator, beautiful resort, organization
Cons: spa
I had the pleasure of having the wedding of my DREAMS at the Barcelo Maya Palace earlier this month. I have practically nothing but wonderful things to say about this experience! We spent 5 days at the resort and truly wish we had booked more time, as our departure came WAY too soon! Here is a detailed review:   Wedding Coordinator: A++   We worked with Claudia Vazquez, and had been corresponding with her since January 2011. We didn't start sending more frequent emails until mid-summ
Read more...
danandjamie

By danandjamie, · 3 Comments

Wedding Date: 10/8/11 Wedding Package: Strawberry Passion Ceremony Location: Palace Gazebo Cocktail Hour: Mexican Package w/ Mariachi band on Palace Rooftop Reception location: Colonial Beach in front of Mariachi Grill Number of guests: 71 Photographer: Ivan Luckie Hair and Makeup: Adrian Guerra Check in: Check in went fine. As soon as the staff saw my wife's dress they immediately escorted us to Club Premium. I requested all 70 of our guests in the upper floors of the non-smoki
Read more...
jaymeandmark

By jaymeandmark, · 4 Comments

Pros: Beautiful, friendly, clean, fun, my list will go on forever!
My wedding was on 7/15/11 at the beautiful Barcelo Maya Palace. We were there for 10 days and had over 40 guests make the trip with us. Everyone stayed at the Barcelo Maya Palace.   I can not say anything negative about our experience! Everything was just perfect! Our guests loved the resort! Everything you could possibly need for your guests is there.....drinks, food, entertainment, disco, shopping, water sports, spa....so much to do! Everyone was so pleased. We all had the time of our li
Read more...
partyshack

By partyshack, · 1 Comment

Pros: Gorgeous location
Cons: The swimup bar closed at dark
We planned our destination wedding site unseen and could not have been luckier!  This was our first trip to Mexico and certainly won't be our last.  We worked with Xhail, the amazing wedding coordinator, and had the most perfect wedding ever.  We had a group of about 30 people come to Mexico for our wedding and all they could keep saying was "this place is amazing".  In fact, my uncle who was hesitant to travel to "unsafe" Mexico was the first to say he wanted to go back.  The resort was safe to
Read more...
june11bride

By june11bride, · 10 Comments

Pros: Amazing food, beaches, location, wedding packages
Cons: Too big to get everyone together!!
Our wedding review!!!   We have been married for 2 weeks and 5 days! We got married at the Barcelo Riviera Maya Palace Resort. It was incredible!! Flight- A I hate flying, but our flight from Vancouver to Cancun (with one stop) on Continental was very nice. It went by really quick and they were very accommodating with my wedding dress. They allowed me to store it in the first class closet. However, no flight along the way would upgrade us because of our wedding. They said too many p
Read more...
michelle2011

By michelle2011, · 7 Comments

Michelle & Dan’s Barcelo Maya Palace Review   24th May – 7th June 2011. Wedding date 1st June 2011   Sorry if its long winded, sometimes I just can’t stop talking ha ha   We flew from Gatwick with 23 family and friends and had a relatively good 10hour flight. What with the ash cloud we thought we were lucky to get there ha ha. The transfer took 1.5hrs as we had a drop off on the way. I’m sure it would only have been an hour if we went direct. All the kids were so tired by
Read more...
April28thBride

By April28thBride, · 2 Comments

Hey everyone, It's my turn to do a wedding review after reading so many!!! If you have any questions let me know! Wedding date: April 28th, 2011 Wedding package:Strawberry Passion Number of people: 11 Ceremony: 4:00pm Palace Gazebo Reception: 6:45pm Coral beach Wedding Coordinator: Claudia Vazquez Makeup/hair: Adrian Guerra and his team Photographers: Artistique Photography     Resort A+: We stayed at the Palace section. Check in was super fast since we wer
Read more...
nisi1125

By nisi1125, · 0 Comments

AMy wedding was April 26th, 2010 at 2:00pm. We stayed there from April 24th through May 1st. 42 guests attended, and most of them stayed for one week. We actually had our guests book on their own because when we tried to get group rates through various companies, they wanted more than the deals we found on the internet because they were "holding" the spots. It also got too complicated because many of our guests were from Canada and the US. We flied there on Mexicana and it was great! They didn
Read more...
MissJenna

By MissJenna, · 0 Comments

Pros: Tropical Paradise, Affordable, Family Friendly, Sun Sand and Sea
After many months, we have finally written reviews for our wedding and honeymoon celebrations.  We seemed to have suffered post-wedding depression and were quite sad when the whole event was over.  Sitting down and finalizing the website, reviews and final mailings to people has proved difficult.  But finally, we have finalized all the reviews, playlists and pictures to our wedding website. We have posted all of our reviews, pictures, music and other content to our wedding website.  Please vi
Read more...

  • Best Destination Wedding Sponsors



    Facebook Pinterest Google+ Twitter
×
×
  • Create New...