Jump to content

Notice: The site will be offline this Saturday evening (4/21/18) for a major software update. Thank you in advance for your patience while upgrade to a new-improved version of BDW.

Veil is awful...I hate it!

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Katiebelle

  • Newbie
  • 73 posts

    Posted 15 January 2009 - 09:47 PM

    I am so upset! My veil just came in...I had ordered it online. I had thought that a veil was a veil and didn't even think to look on here and see recommendations...stupid...I know!

    I pull it out of the package and 5 of the pearls that were in a single row and inch apart all fell of onto the floor! The veil then feels so so stiff...I was worried about it blowing too much in the wind! Now, if he were to touch my back he would pull my hairstyle out! I mean it is ugly! I paid $74 with shipping and thought that was a good deal since my bridal shop is $250 for the same type of veil (fingertip length, 72' wide, 1/8 ribbon on the edge, with pearls 1 inch apart).

    I thought I could just return it...well I should have read that too...they do not allow returns on custom orders...so there is money out of the budget I don't have and no veil!

    DO NOT order from elegantgowns.com !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    #2 Chantal85

    • Jr. Member
    • 224 posts

      Posted 15 January 2009 - 10:05 PM

      I feel your pain! I ordered a birdcage veil online and when it came in, I was soooo disappointed. The feathers were big enough to be a full bird on my head! And the netting...it was supposed to have some small swarovski crystals...none. The whole thing looks like I made it myself or bought it in the cheap bin at Walmart. I fortunately got crafty and shortened the feathers which now makes it a little more presentable...it was that or be out $200.

      I'm sorry you had to go through this. It truly does suck. Don't let it get you down though!

      #3 Danniellou

      • Member
      • 815 posts

        Posted 16 January 2009 - 01:14 AM

        That stinks it is so awful! Have you tried contacting them? Maybe they will be reasonable since it is falling apart.

        #4 sunstarsmoon

        • Sr. Member
        • 2,233 posts

          Posted 16 January 2009 - 11:22 AM

          Sorry you are not happy and thats horrible you can't return it. Is there any way you can fix it?
          July 8, 2011, Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios, Jamaica

          #5 FutureBotter

          • Newbie
          • 46 posts

            Posted 16 January 2009 - 11:39 AM

            Oh Katie ... I 'm so sorry to hear your unforntanate situation! We get so excited for all this stuff and then, blah! If you have a needle and thread, you may be able to reattach the pearls. If they're the stick on kind, I'd recommend stopping at a local craft store ... not sure what you have down your way, but Hobby Lobby and Michael's are my best friend up here! You could even try a fabric store like Hancock fabrics. They'll have small, reasonably priced "sew-on" pearls that you could reattach. The "glue" attaching pearls make me nervous anyhow, to falling off, just becuase of weather change. We're bitter cold here in Chicago and with the extreme temeprature changes that the veil would go through in the mail to here to Mexico, that would cause the glue to loosen. So, you may want to reinforce all the others too with the sew-on type ... that is if you decide to make this veil work. Also, you could take it to a cleaners. It may be stiff because it is brand new tulling and may just need a simple dry clean or two to soften it up. I'd let the cleaners handle that though, otherwise you will definitely loose more of those pearls! Or, you may just have to go find another one! I hope all works out for you! You'll be beautiful good veil or not ... just remember that! :) Christy
            Christy and Jason
            July 31, 2009http://www.weddingco.../wqlqyqvka2.png

            #6 sunsetbride1

            • Sr. Member
            • 1,083 posts

              Posted 16 January 2009 - 05:34 PM

              Ohh.. I am not very crafty and can't sew worth anything; so I am not much help on suggestions as to how to fix it.
              BUT, I would call the company and complain since it is falling apart. If they will not help you, I would report them to the Better Business Bureau and on any wedding blogs/sites you can find. Make you sure tell them you will do this.. that may entice them to help.

              #7 kate.com


                VIP Member

              • VIP Member
              • 8,921 posts

                Posted 16 January 2009 - 05:49 PM

                that stinks!
                I ordered mine from weddingveil.com and love it!
                There was a 7 day money back guarantee- did you look to see what your return policy is? If you can... send it back.
                You can get a veil from my site in less than 2 weeks custom made.
                It'll work out.
                Unfortunately, it is kind of part of the process.

                #8 Katiebelle

                • Newbie
                • 73 posts

                  Posted 16 January 2009 - 06:03 PM

                  Thanks girls! I did what everyone suggested and emailed her explaining what had happened. So, they are sending a return label and I am going to be able to get my money back!

                  Thank goodness! I was really upset about it last night!

                  #9 IslamoradaBride

                  • Jr. Member
                  • 459 posts

                    Posted 16 January 2009 - 06:54 PM

                    I have heard good things about Occansey Designs and Veilshop.com-- you might want to try one of those.

                    0 user(s) are reading this topic

                    0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users