Hand Sanitizers Damaging to Rings?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Mystic

• 254 posts

Posted 26 October 2008 - 11:00 PM

Does anyone know if hand sanitizers like Purell cause damage to rings? I've heard people say they can weaken prongs or cause discoloration but I haven't been able to find any information confirming this online. My jeweler told me that I shouldn't have to worry about my platinum rings. Does anyone have any information or experience with these products damaging jewelry?

I'm a nurse so I use hand sanitizer about 100000 times a day. Maybe some of you other nurse-brides have some input?

#2 Sloan

• 1,279 posts

Posted 27 October 2008 - 12:35 PM

Ive never heard that and Im an RN too. Yeah, my ring is white gold, had it since May '08 and it still looks fine. I have to have mine inspected 2x year for insurance, so if the prongs are getting weak from sanitizer Ill find out next month when its due.

#3 Bisha

• 265 posts

Posted 27 October 2008 - 12:52 PM

My rings are platinum and I've had my E-Ring for 4 years now. I can't say that I use the hand sanitized a 10000 times a day but, about 5-10 and haven't notices any effect on my rings. Actually, it's the first time I hear anything like that

#4 ACDCDCAC

• Moderators
        • 25,218 posts
        • Wedding Location:Santa Maria Bay Beach, Cabo San Lucas, BCS, Mexico
        • LocationSeattle

Posted 27 October 2008 - 01:05 PM

i use it all the time (not 10K a day, but a few times haha) and i have WG bands. i havent noticed any discoloration or weakening, and i've had it inspected 2 times and rhodium dipped 1 time in the year that i've had it.

Attached Files

#5 *Casey*

• 5,209 posts

Posted 27 October 2008 - 01:06 PM

This is news to me... If you can't find much about it online, then I wouldn't worry too much about it.

#6 lmg970

• 316 posts

Posted 27 October 2008 - 01:14 PM