Newbie here.. torn between Vegas and Mexico!

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 blairb

• 6 posts

Posted 31 July 2008 - 05:53 PM

My FI and I recently moved to Vegas (2 mos ago) and we love it here. Our family and friends are spread out around the US (Houston, New Orleans, Vermont, New Mexico, etc, etc), so no matter where we have it people will be flying.

We always dreamed of having our wedding in mexico (playa or cabo), but we're starting to second guess that lately with the ridiculous airfare prices! A houston-cabo flight is now around $850! I think on average if we went with an AI, our guests would spend $2,000 each coming to our wedding. We want a small wedding (around 50ish), but our extended family might not be too keen on spending that much ! Also, friends might not enjoy spending that much on coming to a wedding.. arg

Vegas isn't free, but flights are much cheaper, and there are so many more hotel options to fit into any budget.

Targeting a wedding next fall (Sept or Oct), so hopefully we decide the place soon!

#2 Kelly C

Kelly C
    • 2,051 posts

Posted 31 July 2008 - 05:57 PM

welcome to the forum!.. It is costing us $2000 a couple for the Riu Santa Fe in cabo. What ever you decide it will be wonderful. Good luck!
      Kerrington Danielle was born 6/23/09 12:31 pm 7lbs 14oz.

#3 Davematthews16

• Banned
      • 1,051 posts

Posted 31 July 2008 - 05:59 PM

Of course it's your choice! I guess you just need to decide how important the ocean is for your wedding. If it's not that important then stay in Vegas!

#4 stacey

VIP Member

• VIP Member
        • 4,853 posts

Posted 31 July 2008 - 06:17 PM

Welcome to the forum!!
          Stacey & Ely 10.14.2008

#5 O'Driscoll Photography

O'Driscoll Photography
          • 4,853 posts

Posted 31 July 2008 - 06:24 PM

Welcome, and happy planning!

#6 dinogomez.com

• 5,705 posts

Posted 31 July 2008 - 07:09 PM

Welcome to the forum!!

#7 Jen5372

• 228 posts

Posted 31 July 2008 - 08:47 PM