I am new to this whole do-it-yourself thing but really excited!! I am wanting to make my STD's soon and am debating with a couple of ideas. I have a monogram made and was planning sealing the envelopes with the monogram. What I am having a problem with is how I want to do my save the dates. I really want to do them using my wedding colors (pink and brown) and just thought about getting card stock and doing it that way. I love this idea but I want to let people know I want them to RSVP by January 15, 2010. My FI and I have a website that people can RSVP to that I will mention on the card but I feel I should also send an RSVP card too. What do you think? Also, how do I include an RSVP card with my STD? I am worried it will look weird to have a RSVP card with the kind of STD I want. HELP!!!

I think if you send RSVP cards along with a Save the Date you might get some very confused guests...people will be unsure if they received a Save the Date or if that is the actual invitation.

It is a good idea to direct people to your website so they can work on travel details, but I am not sure you will get many RSVPs that early. I think even including travel most guests may be reluctant to say yes 6 months prior to your wedding. It seems most people will wait until the last possible minute (or forget to RSVP to the wedding at all!)

Just some thoughts from the frequent wedding guest perspective...

Some of the ladies have done something on their web sites asking for an initial thought on who might be going - totally non-committal, but just a check-in really.

But I agree, I wouldn't send an actual RSVP card with the STDs - what about an enclosure asking people only if they think they will be able to attend and directing them to the web site to let you know? That way it's sort of like an RSVP card, but without being one.