del Sol underwater trash the dress movie

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Matt Adcock

Matt Adcock
  • Vendor
  • 1,243 posts

Posted 02 August 2008 - 04:39 PM

Just on the tails of our swimming with Whale Sharks, we have recently purchased an HD video camera and an underwater housing.... ok, so now I'm a videographer! HA... .not really.... but I enjoy documenting life and use my eye to put together our experiences.

Sol & I have purchased underwater housings for our pro digital camera because it is so much fun swimming in the pool, cenote, ocean...wherever... and recording footage of the fun. I actually would like to motivate all the folks on the forum to investigate purchasing an underwater housing for your own Point and shoot digital camera. They are cheap and the payoff will come instantly.

First, I'd like to give you advice based on the P&S camera that we have... I think its a Canon Powershot 850.

Regardless of our model, there are lots of small P&S cameras out there with underwater housings available and for super cheap. Click the image to open in full size.

Most camera manufacturers make an underwater housing for all models of their P&S cameras... if you already own a camera, search out to see if there is a housing to fit around your current model. You may be surprised they are all priced in the $150-200 range... well affordable for the fun imagery.

That said, we spent a few thousand on our housing and accessories for our camera and used them for the first time. Here is a shot Sol took of me in action in & out of the water...

This was our first TTD in a cenote with the camera housing plus the housing made for our video camera... so I shot some documentary footage and had some fun....

Here is my underwater video documentary of the session... a really cool perspective :

Click the image to open in full size.

one of the shots I got from the underworld
    Click the image to open in full size.

Let me know your thoughts :)

Cheers!