Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Hi All,

 

I'm using My Personal Artist for my STD's and Invites. I just got proofs back of my STDs but they weren't exactly what I had written (e.g. missing our names from the return address, and a few other things) but they want to charge extra $ to see another proof! Their stuff is lovely and they seem helpful but at any other print company it is *their* job to get it right and proof--not yours. I'm disappointed w/ that policy. I'm going to call tomorrow and see if they is a way around it. The extra fee isn't a lot, but as you all know, everywhere you turn there are extra fees. Very annoying! I'm wondering, has anyone out there used MPA and gotten a correct proof the first time around?

 

thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't agree with that extra fee. It usually takes a few proofs before things are good. It's really hard to communicate what you want over email as well so maybe you should call them so that hopefully things will be right the next time. Thanks for letting us know about this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Do you have a copy of what you sent them? I would use that copy of what you sent them to show them that it was their oversight and they may waive the fee for the second proof.

 

I am a designer and if I am provided info from a client and miss key information in the design, I will go back to the drawing board (no pun intended!), make the revisions and NOT charge back for the time, proofs, etc. However, if the client failed to provide me with key information at the beginning, and we are at final proof stage and they notice that something is missing, I charge for my time, etc.

 

In some cases designers will charge to provide another proof as there are costs involved (is this a paper proof or a digital one such as a PDF?) - traditionally I only charge for high quality colour proofs unless I have built that into my price (ie. three revisions, etc). If it is a PDF and I am emailing it, I do not charge for the proof itself...

 

let us know what happens.

Jenn

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know there are many companies out there that charge for extra rounds of proofs, but if it is clearly their mistake that is not fair. You are absolutely correct in that it is their job to get it right, and if it was their mistake they should own up to it at no charge.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for responses! Glad you thought I was within my rights. I emailed them and got a new proof, but it's not clear that they are charging me for it. I don't think they are since I explained (nicely) how I felt about it.

 

If they do charge--I'll definitely let you know! In the meantime, I'll say they were reasonable and helpful and waived the charge.

 

On to the next thing! Need to work on our website now.

 

Happy planning all!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well it sounds like this worked out, especially since this was their fault. Hope you like your invites!

 

and BTW you picked a gorgeous resort. I was there a few years ago and loved it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×