Photo

New to the whole Destination Wedding concept!

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 viajerajulie

viajerajulie
  • 18 posts

Posted 16 June 2011 - 07:30 PM

Hi all!

My name is Julie and I'm so glad I came across this website! I'm excited to be here! A little background on my hubby and I:

We met in 2006. I'm a Spanish teacher and he's from Mexico, so it was like fate! We dated for about 2 years before he popped the question. We planned a big, traditional wedding here in Baltimore and then (for a variety of reasons) things fell through. We knew we wanted to be married though, so we did a very small courthouse ceremony and promised ourselves that we'd have a church (Catholic) wedding at a later date. We have since planned an canceled a second church wedding here, this time due to finances. Times are tough! And so now, we are looking at the possibility of doing a destination wedding in Cancun as a middle ground for both families. His family wasn't able to attend the civil wedding, so I'm hoping he can get a good group of family and friends to come to this one.

So far, I am absolutely in love with the Lady of Guadalupe Chapel at the Real Gran Caribe. That's my first choice. I'm not expecting us to have a huge turnout for the wedding, since it's destination...so I'm not planning a 'reception', so to speak...more like a dinner. We can do our dancing in the clubs that night! And we will likely have a big party back here to celebrate as well!

So excited to be here and learn from you destination brides! Any advice is absolutely welcome, as I'm a true newbie to this concept!!

#2 lololola

lololola
    • 156 posts

Posted 22 June 2011 - 02:08 PM

Welcome Julie, and congratulations! Destination weddings were completely foreign to me also, but this board and its members are fantastic and soo helpful. Happy planning!

#3 Essential0929

Essential0929
      • 236 posts

Posted 22 June 2011 - 03:15 PM