Sign in to follow this  
MrsWtobe

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

These are just like the regular old-fashioned chocolate chip cookies, but with a bit of cornstarch the cookies come out really chewy. I've made them many times before and my students made them recently and they turned out amazing! (I'm a Family Studies teacher). Enjoy!

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Preparation time 15 min

Cooking time 8 min per sheet

Makes 3 dozen

2 cups (500 mL) all-purpose flour

2 tsp (10 mL) cornstarch

1 tsp (5 mL) baking soda

1/2 tsp (2 mL) salt

1 cup (250 mL) chocolate chips

3/4 cup (175 mL) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 cup (250 mL) brown sugar

1/4 cup (50 mL) granulated sugar

1 egg

2 tsp (10 mL) vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 350F (180C). In a medium-size bowl, using a fork, stir flour with cornstarch, baking soda and salt until evenly mixed. Measure out chocolate chips. Place butter in a large bowl. Using an electric mixer, beat until smooth, about 1 min. Then beat in brown and granulated sugars until fluffy, about 2 min. Beat in egg and vanilla. Using a spoon, stir in flour mixture and chocolate chips just until evenly mixed.

2. Lightly spray a baking sheet with vegetable oil. Scoop out about 1 tbsp (15 mL) dough and place on sheet. Repeat with remaining dough, spacing at least 2 in. (5 cm) apart. Donâ€t press down. They will spread as they bake.

3. Bake, one sheet at a time, in centre of oven until cookies are golden around the edges, from 8 to 10 min per sheet. Remove sheet to a rack and let cookies stand on sheet about 2 min. Then remove cookies to a rack to cool completely. Repeat with remaining dough. Once cool, cookies will keep well in a covered container at room temperature up to 2 weeks - if they last that long.

These sound soo good. Not so good for the diet I am on, but maybe if I use Splenda Brown Sugar, and light butter. lol will they still taste as good?