Canadian Newbie...Planning Destination Wedding

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 angel33

• 1 posts

Posted 11 July 2012 - 09:15 PM

Hi my name is Tara and I'm newly engaged and we want to do a destination wedding....but I have NO IDEA where to start...HELP

#2 Houstonnlh

• 116 posts

Posted 13 July 2012 - 08:40 AM

Hi Tara! Congrats and welcome! I'm no expert as I'm in the beginning stages as well, but here is the order I went in:

1) Have a rough idea of what your total budget is for the wedding

2) Research Research Research this forum on places (See Resort Reviews at the top)

3) Pick a location (Country, Resort, etc)

4) Decide if you want a travel agent or not (you can find them on here through Wright Travel), and get in contact with them re: room blocks, travel etc

5) Give yourself alot of planning time and let your guests know asap when you pick the resort. One of the things I did when I got engaged is talk to my core group (MOH, close family) to guage if they would be able to attend something like that. Then we started planning so no surprises. Not yet at least :)

We are 10 months away from wedding and I have reserved the room block at the hotel, reserved the date there, taken engagement pictures, asked our wedding party to be part of the big day, and plan to send out save the dates in the next 4 weeks.

Hope this helps, I"m sure others who are further along will have some better advice too!

#3 JayKay

• 3,472 posts
      • Wedding Date:January 13, 2012
      • Wedding Location:Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
      • LocationSouthern Alberta

Posted 19 July 2012 - 02:13 PM