Jump to content

Photo

Tammy v. Tammy


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 can't wait!

can't wait!
  • Member
  • 517 posts

    Posted 16 December 2008 - 02:29 AM

    Finding a travel agent, let alone a darn good one, is tough so I thought I would post this message to try to help those who are just starting the process. When I first began researching a resort I was surfing a gazillion websites and forums on the web. I heard so much about a certain Tammy and decided to contact her and book her as my agent.
    Well, turns out, I contacted the wrong one!

    Tammy Wright is the amazing creator of this forum and is also a travel agent out of California. She specializes in destination weddings.

    Tammy Levent is also a travel agent who specializes in destination weddings but does NOT run this website or is in anyway associated with BDW.

    When I first booked I thought I had contacted Tammy Wright. Months later, I realized the Tammy I hired wasn't the one who runs this forum.
    My advice? If you are wanting to hire, contact, or even just chat with the Tammy from this forum PM her or email her at : tammy@wrighttravelagency.com


    I don't know either of these Tammy's personally but have dealt with both of them professionally. Notice I said I made the mistake of hiring the wrong Tammy. There is a difference between them. If you have any questions just PM. I'd love to help.

    Hope this may avoid other confusions!

    #2 SunBride

    SunBride
    • Sr. Member
    • 1,499 posts

      Posted 16 December 2008 - 07:35 PM

      haha, that's a funny story and sounds like something I would do!

      I wish I had tried contact a BDW TA because I wasn't have much local with the ones I did try.

      #3 MomentsThatMatter

      MomentsThatMatter
      • Vendor
      • 2,015 posts

        Posted 16 December 2008 - 07:53 PM

        We enjoyed dealing with Tammy as well. She does a good job.
        Lincoln & Lori @ Moments that Matter Photography
        Playa Del Carmen Wedding Photographers - Mexico - Cancun - & Mayan Riviera
        Web: http://momentsthatmatterphotography.com/
        Blog: http://momentsthatmatterphotography.com/blog/
        http://i711.photobuc....Ad-Sept09b.gif

        #4 jerzygirl85

        jerzygirl85
        • Jr. Member
        • 342 posts

          Posted 21 January 2009 - 07:06 PM

          That is so funny....I contacted both Tammy's and had to double check my emails to make sure I was sending them to the right Tammy!! lol....
          ~~Joanna~~

          Bride & Groom plus 36 booked!

          http://tickers.Ticke....7ca2/event.png

          #5 TammyWright

          TammyWright

            Admin & Owner

          • Administrators
          • 11,659 posts
          • Wedding Location:Dreams Los Cabos

          Posted 30 January 2009 - 11:27 PM

          its ok. a few people have made that mistake and emailed me later about it but usually it is too late by then

          Founder and Owner of BestDestinationWedding.com  /  Bride & Groom Fly FREE Promotion

           
          Looking for a travel agency that specializes in Destination Weddings-CLICK HERE?  We are an award winning travel agency and you can read our reviews here.
           
          Awards and recognition: 
          Palace Resorts Winner "Top Travel Agent", "Top Homebased Travel Agency" PRO Platinum Agency (Top Award)     |    AMResorts Master Agent & Top Agency  
          Karisma Hotels Diamond Level 5 (highest production), Top 10 Azul Weddings, Top Wedding Coordinator | Wright Travel & Karisma GIVC Benefits
          Travel Impressions Best of the Best Globe Winner    |     Apple Vacations Golden Apple Winner  
          sml_gallery_206696_17612_13451.pnggallery_206696_17572_8409.jpg    sml_gallery_206696_17572_1003.jpg
          Vendor rules are HERE! Please read!  If you are a vendor and looking to advertise your business, please email ads@bestdestinationwedding.com.


          #6 BeachBride2Be

          BeachBride2Be
          • Newbie
          • 3 posts

            Posted 17 February 2009 - 08:22 PM

            I am glad someone is clearing this up because I was also confused. I almost booked Tammy at elite but one of the brides from brides.com sent me this.

            Elite Travel Group- Clearwater, FL. Review - "Extremely Unprofessional Customer Service" - Viewpoints

            Quote:
            Elite Travel Group- Clearwater, FL. Review
            Extremely Unprofessional Customer Service

            love to travel

            Pros: We did get there

            Cons: Customer Service, returning phone calls or emails, disrespectful


            JUN 23 2008I had a very large group use Elite Travel for my destination wedding in June 2008. When making travel arrangements phone calls and emails were not returned. I asked for confirmations and seat assignments on several occasions but never received them until 2 weeks prior to departure when I called and got them over the phone. When i checked our seat assignments NONE of my party, including the couples that booked together, were seated together and my minor son's flight had been cancelled. They do say that the seat assignments were due to AA changing the flight time, but my issue is that it took ME figuring it out and calling AA to fix it. Had I not called AA my minor son would not have made the trip formy wedding day in which he was a part of the bridal party. Imagine THAT disappointment on your wedding day. Anyway, enough about me...fact is I would assume that being in the business, if this is so common, you should be aware of the situation and the procedure to resolve it. Members of my party had differnet rooms than discussed, including me never getting the honeymoon upgrade I was told i would get. One member even had a different return flight than discussed. I was totally planning to just leave the unsatisfactory experience alone because after all that- my wedding and the service I received from my wedding coordinator and resort in CANCUN was AMAZING!!! (which had nothing to do with the travel agency...BUT, when my mom emailed a complaint when Elite emailed us for feedback, their response was EXTREMELY unprofessional and nothing short of offensive!!! Read below for more...The proof is in black and white!!!!!

            My mom says:

            It saddens me to say we will never use your services again. We asked for a straight thru flight. if there wasn't one Katie should have told us rather than booking the trip. i told her about my husbands eye problems with the pressure from the plane and wanted as little take off and landing as possible. We got 4 take offs and 4 landing. needless to say the trip was miserable. We asked for a suite and did not get that either. By the time we received the packets for the trip, it was too late to reschedule anything. Once we got to Cancun we heard a few other stories from customers that were equally dissatified. The bride, my daughter, had problems too. Do not bother sending the $25.00 gift credit. Using Elite Travel is not worth the money. Sign me a very dissatisfied customer.

            Elite says:

            I am sorry to hear that, we are here for customer service and satisfaction. We cannot control the airlines nor their schedule. You got the exact room you requested and paid for. i understand you were latein booking your room and the availability was scarce. you booked mid March and no suites were available. You were quoted an Oceanfront room that is what is on your invoice, no suites were available at that time. You called on this (the eye) and i explained to you that THERE ARE NO DIRECT FLIGHTS FROM NEW ORLEANS TO CANCUN. if YOU CAN PRESENT ME WITH ONE....I WOULD LOVE TO SEE THAT. Again, did you want us to create an airline for you to get there? i am not sure what you are saying. We failed because we did not get you a direct flight there that does not exist? You booked 3 months prior to departure whereas everyone else booked months prior. THERE WAS NO AVAILABILITY IN A SUITE. I AM NOT UNDERSTANDING WHAT PART OF THAT YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND? YOU OBVIOUSLY WANTED US TO CREATE A SUITE,YOU WANTED US TO CREATE A NEW AIRPLANE TO GET YOU THERE DIRECT FLIGHTS. I would love to entertain their (rest of party) complaints when they come my way. If they are like yours...no problem. i am sure they will also complain about the seat assignments. When we issue seat assignments as we first book your trip, if the airline changes a flight they reassign all the seats. Maybe you should travel more and really see what things are like out there and not just blame one person or company, it certainly doesn't make you look good with issues that are unrealistic. (Do not bother with gift) I agree, we welcome clients who have traveled and are knowledgeable what they are talking about. It is quite evident in the 30 years of business that when one complains about everything it seems as though nothing could ever make them happy. have a wonderful day. Another note....Anything positive? the Wedding?Food?Weather? anything at all? My point exactly!!!


            #7 jerzygirl85

            jerzygirl85
            • Jr. Member
            • 342 posts

              Posted 18 February 2009 - 01:18 PM

              I can't believe that response from them!!! It is very unprofessional and just rude.
              ~~Joanna~~

              Bride & Groom plus 36 booked!

              http://tickers.Ticke....7ca2/event.png

              #8 drbrainfreeze

              drbrainfreeze
              • Member
              • 813 posts

                Posted 18 February 2009 - 02:59 PM

                Thats very surprising! I have heard of other using them with no problems. Luckily with family in the business now, I know I get the best customer service! And at least with the TAs on this site, you know you are going to get good service

                #9 can't wait!

                can't wait!
                • Member
                • 517 posts

                  Posted 19 February 2009 - 04:02 PM

                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by BeachBride2Be
                  I am glad someone is clearing this up because I was also confused. I almost booked Tammy at elite but one of the brides from brides.com sent me this.

                  Elite Travel Group- Clearwater, FL. Review - "Extremely Unprofessional Customer Service" - Viewpoints
                  Unfortunately, I can say I'm not AT ALL surprised with this response. It is very characteristic of them to take this approach. And also sad. I will never use Tammy Levent/ELITE travel again. It was my mistake to go with her and I had to pay for it. That is why I posted this thread. To have others avoid what I went through. It's just not worth it. Stick with Tammy Wright. Again, I've never met her but through our phone conversations I know she would've handled my wedding a gazillion times better!

                  #10 JCruz

                  JCruz
                  • Jr. Member
                  • 154 posts

                    Posted 19 February 2009 - 05:50 PM

                    I cannot believe how rude and unprofessional that response was. How appalling! I'm glad that there's a forum like this to warn others about travels agents like Elite.




                    0 user(s) are reading this topic

                    0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users