Sign in to follow this  
jmhein

Newbie to this Forum! Wedding at Riu Ocho Rios in Feb 2008

Hi everyone,

I am new here! I am just in the process of booking the Riu Ocho Rios in Jamaica for my wedding! It's tentatively set for February 6, 2008, which is pretty exciting! I would love to hear from anyone who's had a Riu wedding or been to this resort!

Oh! My name is Janelle!

Hey Janelle (and fellow Albertan!),

I don't have any advice for that resort, sorry... but I just wanted to welcome you to the forum! What made you choose Feb. 6? Wahooo - less than a year to go!!

welcome4.gif

I also just want to welcome you....I'm honeymooning at Riu Ocho Rios but never been before. It looks like a beautiful spot for a wedding!!

Welcome Janelle, I am honeymooning next year in Ocho Rios. I was planning for Sandals but recently started looking at the RIU and Couples. Let us know if you need anything

Hello and welcome. I am also a newbie. I by no means want to scare you but please check out Reviews of vacations, hotels, resorts, vacation and travel packages - TripAdvisor and read some of the posts there about that resort particulary the wedding reviews. You may have to search the forum. Most of the reviews are great but there is one bride that just returned last month who I have been personally emailing and her story is pretty bad. I don't think she'll mind if I give you her email address. I can ask her if you'd like. It just totally scared me since I too was planning a wedding at that location. Plus, the wedding coordinator, Chandlyn, seems very hard to reach. Apparently there are numerous weddings throughout the day and she is very busy. Have you started planning yet? I would love to hear your thoughts about how it is going and if you contacted Laura in Mexico yet. I was told she was the main coordinator for all the RIU resorts and you had to contact her first for information before getting together with Chandlyn. Is the RIU resort the one in Ocho Rios?? I forgot there are