Advice: PhD plus a baby?

Samantha S

Hi All, I just met with my academic advisor about getting my PhD. I have always wanted to and planned on it but have just started thinking about 'when' to get back to school. I was honestly thinking I could take about two courses at a time and pop out a kid in the meantime but my advisor said I should really plan on having a child, waiting a year or two and then going to school or going to school full time and then having a child. Its not like I was planning on having a baby during finals. I thought I would take a term off when we get there.... Anyone been in grad school with kids or planning kids or been in grad school and couldn't imagine having a babyhuh.gif??

I got my Masters and went full time and worked 32 hours per week. It was bananas but I knew it was temporary. Its just a different story when we're talking about a little breathing human. FI thinks I should wait and I won't make the choice with out him because it affects both of us so hugely but it is the difference of me doing the same job 4 years from now regardless but making triple the income.

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think it's your own personal opinion. If you can handle it then I say go for it. But a baby and pregnancy would be something new for you so you don't want to get into it and get stressed and overwhelmed. I went through it and I had to take time off because my daugher was in school and she wasn't getting the attention she needed as far as reading and homework. I was taking 2 classes and I swear I was running on E everyday. Kids are time consuming and demanding. Mine aren't baby babies but even more demanding as a newborn.

Best of luck with whatever you decide.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel View Post