Jump to content


Very upset about Azul Beach (LONG VENT)

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 DJsbride

  • Newbie
  • 53 posts

    Posted 26 June 2008 - 10:51 AM

    When I booked my wedding back in november 2007, Karisma hotels were running a promotion, where you could either get $900 credit toward the spa, a room upgrade or a free stay for the one year anniversary. Since I didn't care much about the rooms, and knowing we didn't want to go back for our anniversary I choose the spa credit. When I did my application online, it asked me what I wanted and thats what I put. I received an email confirmation with the application and it clearly states that I'm getting the WEDSPA promotion. First of all my wedding date was supposed to be November 15, 2008. When I first contacted Fabio last year he told me that date was available. I asked him to send me the payment form so that I can book the date. Then he sends me an email saying that is not available and asking what other date I wanted. I then said I wanted November 22 and to please let me know how I could pay. He replies sending me the payment form and also telling me that it was a mistake and that November 15 was still available in case I still wanted that date. I quickly paid my deposit and signed a contract with that date because thats what we really wanted.

    2 weeks later he sends me an email apologizing and saying that the date was previously booked by another couple and asking me to please change my date to November 22. Needless to say that I was furious since it was an issue from the beginning, and I already had paid my deposit and signed a contract with that date, and I told him that unfortunately I wasn't changing my date or I just wanted my money back. I actually emailed the hotel manager because at that point I didn't want to deal with Fabio anymore. They made me an offer I couldn't resit and I then agreed to change my date to November 22, 2008. A few days later I received an email from Fabio apologizing and saying that he would try his best to exceed my expectations.

    Fast forward to this week, when I send him an email asking him about the rehearsal, and if I needed to make reservations ahead of time to use the spa credit, he then replies saying that my package doesn't include the wedspa promotion and that I'm not eligible because that promotion is only for weddings performed on Monday, Tuesdays or Wednesdays. Did they tell me this when I booked it and they reviewed my application? NO! They are just
    telling me now 8 months later and ONLY because I asked, for all I know I could have shown up thinking I was going to get a spa day!!

    This on top of the fact they are now trying to say they do not provide
    any decoration for the ceremony gazebo, only 12 chairs and a wood walkway and a table. But in an email that Fabio sent me on April 22, he says that my package includes decoration as "shown" and the picture he sent me shows a gazebo with fabric and flowers. UGh! All this is really frustrating. I tried to contact an outside florist to see how much she will charge me for the flowers and fabric since Azul quoted me $380 for that, and $14.00 for the chivari chairs. At this point I just want to switch hotels and not deal with them anymore. My travel agent is trying to solve the issues, but I'm really frustrated and heart broken. Wedding planning is supposed to be fun and happy times, and everytime I deal with Fabio and Azul I feel like they are trying to scam me. I'm trying to gather all the prices from the outside vendors and then I'll email the hotel manager with my take on the whole situation. I'm done dealing with Fabio, I know the wedding is in less than 5 months, and I have like 40 guests booked, but to be honest if I could change locations, I would.

    Sorry that this is too long, but I just want to cry

    #2 becks



    • VIP Member
    • 4,881 posts
    • Wedding Date:August 9, 2008
    • Wedding Location:Riviera Maya
    • LocationNew York

    Posted 26 June 2008 - 10:57 AM

    Oh no! Big hugs. I wish it were easier for you!

    I think we've all dealt with a bit of "surprise" from our hotels and as a result wanted to switch hotels, or just strangle someone. I know I did.

    But in the end, you picked Azul because you like the hotel and what they offer, and you want your guests to experience that.

    Chin up, it will work out. I'd go back to Fabio and tell him that you he told you the decorations were included and tell him that he will have to live up to his promises. Copy the hotel manager on the e-mail as well.

    Good luck. Keep us posted.

    Happily married since 2008

    Allurements by Rebecca - Destination Wedding Invitations and more

    #3 FYB87

    • Member
    • 976 posts

      Posted 26 June 2008 - 11:00 AM

      I am so sorry this is happening. I do agree and think that you should stop dealing with Fabio and just deal directly with the Hotel Manager and see what he/she can do to make you feel better. Maybe drop the price or get something free. Especially since you have the e-mails proving what Fabio initially said. That is ridiculous.

      Don't stress though...it will all work out in the end and you will have a fabulous wedding day!

      #4 caroline

      • Member
      • 697 posts

        Posted 26 June 2008 - 11:08 AM

        So sorry to hear that! Is there any way to change your location? There has to be a loop-hole somewhere, especially with the way they have jacked you around!

        You can always have a nice, quiet word w/the manager and in a round about way let him know that the resorts reputation is dependant upon how he takes care of this mess! I'd be seriously pissed off too!

        #5 TammyB

        • Sr. Member
        • 10,630 posts

          Posted 26 June 2008 - 11:13 AM

          IMO I would show them each email that you were promised something, tell them they have to honor it. Come to think of it I think someone from that resort is on the forum. Maybe you should mention BDW and tell them you will post a horrible review if they don't correct this matter. DId you hire an outside WC?

          #6 yamille

          • Sr. Member
          • 1,460 posts

            Posted 26 June 2008 - 11:13 AM

            I'm so sorry that you have had such a frustrating time with Azul and the WC.
            I Second what Becks said about cc'ing the manager on the email. You may want to run down the list of things that have already "gone wrong" just so that they know who you are. Also be sure t o remind them that you are bringing 40+ family and friends to their hotel and giving them business.

            Also, I think if you paid for a weddig package the ceremony gazebo would be the one thing that is included! I'm not sur eif you did that or not though. Either way, it seems like there have been several miscommunications and it seems to be Fabio's confusion. That sucks. I'm sorry

            #7 DJsbride

            • Newbie
            • 53 posts

              Posted 26 June 2008 - 11:13 AM

              I'm trying to gather my thoughts before I contact the manager. At the same time I found out prices for the chairs I wanted with outside vendors for significantly less than what the hotel quoted me. So I'm going to try to work something out with them, but I'm really really upset.

              #8 DJsbride

              • Newbie
              • 53 posts

                Posted 26 June 2008 - 11:16 AM

                Tammy: I didn't hire an outside WC. I thought that given the reputation of the hotel, they'd be able to handle everything and my TA since is a former destination bride has been helping me.

                #9 monicaswave

                • Jr. Member
                • 450 posts

                  Posted 26 June 2008 - 11:22 AM

                  It sucks you are going through this. I can totally relate too cause like Becks mentioned I think most of us have dealt with a few unexpected surprises. The feeling totally sucks!!!

                  Keep us posted

                  #10 adias.angel

                  • Member
                  • 719 posts

                    Posted 26 June 2008 - 01:17 PM

                    I agree with everyone else on here. If you have the emails showing what was promised they have to give it to you. Stand firm and don't back down. They may try to push you a bit but fire right back with the emails.

                    I wish this was easier for you. Carla

                    0 user(s) are reading this topic

                    0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users