• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Kristy!

Kristy!

VIP Member

• VIP Member
  • 6,368 posts

Posted 04 June 2008 - 09:21 AM

I have never done scrapbooking before, so I'm a little clueless...OK, very clueless. I will be making boarding pass invitaitons, so I am going to purchase a paper trimmer and am trying to figure out which blades I need. I know I need the traditional straight blade, so I'm not worried about that. I would like my RSVPs to tear off and be mailed to me as a postcard. I've seen people mention perforating blades and scoring blades. It sounds like the perforating blade would be what I want, but what does a scoring blade do?

#2 JennyK

JennyK
    • 3,502 posts

Posted 04 June 2008 - 09:28 AM

I believe scoring blade bends the paper so it folds. What you want is the perforating blade to tear off the RSVPs.

#3 becks

becks

VIP

• VIP Member
      • 4,881 posts
      • Wedding Date:August 9, 2008
      • Wedding Location:Riviera Maya
      • LocationNew York

Posted 04 June 2008 - 09:33 AM

A scoring blade makes a dent in the page so that it folds nicely and in a straight line.

I used mine on the ticket jackets primarily. (Plus the center fold of my passport STDs).

I found it much easier to work with a scoring blade than a ruler or a bone folder.

Happily married since 2008

Allurements by Rebecca - Destination Wedding Invitations and more

#4 Kristy!

Kristy!

VIP Member

• VIP Member
      • 6,368 posts

Posted 04 June 2008 - 09:36 AM

Ah, ok. So that's why people are mentioning the scoring blade. That sounds perfect for the ticket jacket. I think I'll get both. Thanks girls!

#5 Chiquita

Chiquita
        • 2,674 posts

Posted 04 June 2008 - 11:40 AM

Can you buy both those blades together in a kit of some sort? Like at Michaels or whatever? I need both too for my boarding pass invites! :)

#6 adias.angel

adias.angel
          • 719 posts

Posted 04 June 2008 - 11:41 AM